Launch of the Anglo-Hellenic League Runciman Award 2023


We are pleased to announce the call to publishers for nominations for the Anglo-Hellenic League
Runciman Award 2023. Publishers are invited to make up to seven nominations each for books that
fall within the specifications and criteria of the award. The detailed rules for publishers and
nomination forms are being released in parallel with this press notice.

For the competition in 2023, Prof. Peter Frankopan (Oxford) will return to chair the panel of judges.
Prof. Judith Mossman (Coventry) and Dr Sofka Zinovieff also return as judges. Dr Vassiliki
Kolocotroni (Glasgow) and Prof. Oliver Thomas (Nottingham) join the panel for the first time.

Nominations are open until 14 December 2022. The judges expect to draw up and publish their longlist in January 2023. A short list will be announced in April. The winner will be revealed at an Award
Ceremony in London in June 2023. (Exact dates to be confirmed in the New Year.)

The Anglo-Hellenic League Runciman Award is sponsored by the A. C. Laskaridis Charitable
Foundation and the A. G. Leventis Foundation.



1. The Anglo-Hellenic League Runciman Award was conceived in 1983, as an initiative of Earl Jellicoe, the then chairman of the League, in honour of Sir Steven Runciman, the distinguished historian of Byzantium and longest-serving chairman of the League (1951-1967). It was first awarded in 1986 and has been awarded most years since then.

2. The award is given to the best book (or books) published in English in the previous year on a Greek subject. It aims to stimulate interest in Greek history and culture from earliest times to the present; to reward and encourage good and accessible writing, of which Runciman’s works are an example; and to promote a wider knowledge and understanding of Greece’s contribution to civilisation and values. The prize may be awarded for a work in the field of history, literary studies, biography, travel and topography, the arts, architecture, archaeology, the environment, social and political sciences or current affairs; or for a work of fiction, poetry or drama. Translations from Greek literature into English are also eligible. Books published in 2022 are eligible for the award in 2023.

3. The winner of the Anglo-Hellenic League Runciman Award 2022 was Ian Collins for John Craxton: A Life of Gifts (New Haven and London: Yale University Press 2021), published in Greek translation as John Craxton: Ο αγαπημένος της ζωής. Μία ελληνική ψυχή (Athens: Patakis 2022).

4. Enquiries about the Award can be made to the administrator (Dr John Kittmer) at Information about the two sponsoring foundations can be found at: and

Council of the League

The Anglo-Hellenic League

  c/o The Hellenic Centre

  16-18 Paddington Street

  London W1U 5AS

10 October 2022