Runciman Book Prize full list of entries

Press Release – 27th February 2019


The Anglo-Hellenic League

(Registered Charity No. 278892)
The Hellenic Centre, 16/18 Paddington Street, London W1U 5AS
President and Chief Patron HRH Prince Michael of Kent GCVO
Joint Patrons HE The Greek Ambassador to the Court of St James’s
HBM Ambassador to Greece
Chairman Mr John Kittmer

The field of books submitted

The closing date for books to be submitted for the Runciman Award 2019 was 31 January, and a complete list of books submitted is today being put on our website

The total number of books is up again this year, at 51, and there is a wide variety of subject matter from  classical antiquity to modern times. We shall make a further announcement when our judges have assessed the field and reached their decisions.

The presentation of the £9,000 award, kindly sponsored by  Elias Paraskevas Attorneys 1933 who also fund the award ceremony, will take place on Thursday 13 June at The Hellenic Centre, 16-18 Paddington Street, London W1U 5AS beginning at 7.00 pm. This will be an occasion for hearing from the authors – the winner and those who come close to winning – and for celebrating the continued strong interest shown by authors and publishers in the Runciman Award and all that it stands for.

Now is the time for all those who share this interest to note 13 June in their diaries.


The award judges this year are:

Dr Dionysis Kapsalis (chair), Director, Cultural Foundation of the National Bank of Greece.

Professor Peter Frankopan, Professor of Global History, Worcester College, Oxford.

Dr Naoise Mac Sweeney, Associate Professor, School of Archaeology and Ancient History, University of Leicester.

Professor Judith Mossman, Pro Vice Chancellor for Arts and Humanities, Coventry University.

The Runciman Award, named after Sir Steven Runciman, author and former chairman of the Anglo-Hellenic League, was first awarded in 1986. Sponsored now by the law firm Elias Paraskevas 1933,  it is awarded by the Anglo-Hellenic League on the advice of a panel of independent judges. The aim of the award is to celebrate the finest new books written in English on Greek history and culture from the earliest times to the present, to reward good accessible writing (which Runciman’s works exemplified), and to promote wider knowledge of Greece’s contribution to civilisation and values.

The Anglo-Hellenic League was founded in 1913 and is dedicated to friendship and understanding between the UK and Greece. More information about the judges and previous winners is on the website . Please direct any further enquiries to the award administrator Richard Carden, .

For the latest news and updates please ‘Like’ our Facebook page  and follow us on Twitter @RuncimanAward .


Leave a comment

twelve + eighteen =